Author Topic: FolioFN Sell All In-Grace-Period Loans  (Read 14841 times)

sociallender

• View Profile
    • Email
FolioFN Sell All In-Grace-Period Loans
« on: September 16, 2013, 04:41:15 PM »
I just read this article from lendingmemo.com regarding how the author avoids defaults by selling in-grace-period loans:

http://www.lendingmemo.com/lending-club-foliofn/

Based on the article, it suggests that it is a good idea to discount all in-grace-period loans at a suggested discount of 10% (give or take).  Does anyone have experience with this strategy?  Perhaps any data that supports the recommendation? 

I have very little experience with foliofn, but seems on the surface statistically that it makes sense.  I could potentially automate this type of strategy but not sure if it is worth the effort. 

Thanks,
SL

core

• Your loss is my gain
    • View Profile
Re: FolioFN Sell All In-Grace-Period Loans
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 04:57:24 PM »
If you can get rid of them at a 10% discount I'd say go for it.  Just don't expect to sell a large percentage at that price.  I skimmed over the article and Simon's point was any that do get sold is money in your pocket.  But you are still going to have defaults unless you agressively lower the price as the next status downgrade date approaches.

As for automation, you have to be very careful about that.  Lending Club likes to decide not to process payments whenever they feel like it and your notes could temporarily go into grace period status for no valid reason.

sociallender

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2013, 05:14:07 PM »
Thanks for the feedback.

As for automation, you have to be very careful about that.  Lending Club likes to decide not to process payments whenever they feel like it and your notes could temporarily go into grace period status for no valid reason.