Author Topic: Newbie here: are my notes protected?  (Read 4731 times)

jasondhsd

• View Profile
Newbie here: are my notes protected?
« on: May 17, 2016, 02:40:14 PM »
Hi I'm new here, I actually transferred money into my newly created LC account basically the night before all the crap went down. It's finally in the LC account today.  I know that's insured but I'm very confused if I start buying notes if I'm protected if LC fails (I know they aren't if the borrower defaults)?    I know with a brokerage if they fail I still own all the stock and mutual funds in my name.   But unless I'm misunderstanding if LC goes down I could potentially lose all my notes & not get back even my principle regardless of the borrower's status on payment...which they would still have to pay? Who would they be paying back if not the investors that lended out the money?   If this is the case then in reality there is zero diversification since only LC has to default or go under. That makes the acceptable risk of investing in notes turn into a very high risk.  Am I wrong on this? I hope I am.

Fred93

• View Profile
Re: Newbie here: are my notes protected?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 03:47:31 PM »
LC has a large pile of cash on the balance sheet.  Over $800 Million!  And they have not borrowed.  This means that it is extremely unlikely that they would go bankrupt.  Bankruptcy occurs generally when a company can't make a loan payment, but in this case there are no loans.  One would have to imagine a future where they have borrowed big money, used it up, borrowed more, and finally could not make the payments.

Your notes are obligations of LC, so if LC should someday enter bankruptcy, it is theoretically possible that your notes could be affected.