Author Topic: Trading account  (Read 3759 times)

LuckyMac

• View Profile
    • Email
Trading account
« on: August 18, 2012, 12:02:51 AM »
I'm new to P2P as of May. I have read everything I can find on this model. I have been building up my notes at around 4 per week.

I started buying some notes on the proper platform in July. I have stopped since reading some of Peter's posts and the replies to those posts.

I was buying using a filter of AA, A, B, C notes 12 & 36 months, no credit score slip (or an increase), 2 to 4 payment history & 20% or better yields after premium/discount.

I was buying all of these..... (not a bunch to be had but enough to keep you looking)

My concern is "Am I buying troubles? Are these loans going to be a problem?" Was there enough info to make an informed decision? Should I be just a seller on the platform?

Thanks you for any insights

Carl

Blake

• View Profile
Re: Trading account
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2012, 12:14:42 AM »
How are you filtering?

P2P_CT

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2012, 05:29:06 PM »
I like the strategy of buying notes with previous payments and same  / improved credit score.  If you aren't applying other filters you might still end up with dogs, so it's best to vet these loans beyond what you describe.  Also, you want to be careful about paying too high a premium for these notes - a prepayment in these situations can sometimes lead you to lose money.

Blake

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2012, 02:47:08 PM »
Based on buying mistakes I've made on Folio, I still think you need to heavily evaluate the original listing.

The data you see in the Folio filter screen is all about pricing, payments, loan age, etc.

The data you see in the LC filter is all about owning/renting, income, credit score, etc.

So for example, yeah you could buy a note that has an increased credit score...but increased from where to where?  Also, volatile has the score been.