Author Topic: Opposite of tax-loss harvesting to improve tax efficiency of P2P?  (Read 12677 times)

Half Right

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Opposite of tax-loss harvesting to improve tax efficiency of P2P?
« Reply #15 on: December 18, 2015, 12:52:55 PM »
the income and the expense flow out separately.
the income comes out as "other portfolio income" and the expenses as "other portfolio expenses".
in this way the accountants sign off on the return and you have the headache of deciding how to pick it up.
if you decide to pick it up as a business you may subject yourself to Social Security taxes on your "Net Income from Self Employment"

Fred93

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: December 18, 2015, 05:28:01 PM »
Here is what I don't quite understand regarding the tax issues and I'll admit I'm new to P2P investing.  Most of the information I've read (including this site and these boards) recommend not investing more than 10% of your portfolio in P2P. ...
So realistically unless you are investing the majority of your portfolio in P2P which is certainly risky for such a new vehicle you will likely generate enough capital gains to offset your P2P losses.

Seems to me that you understand perfectly.  People just complain too much, and or write endlessly about trivial things to fill up blogs, etc.

I generate an ongoing stream of capital losses from my failed loans, but I fully expect to have capital gains from other investments, which allow me to "use" the capital losses.  Those cap gains are lumpy, but I just roll with that.  If doesn't happen this year, the capital losses roll to next year, etc, so are never lost.

brloans

• View Profile
« Reply #17 on: December 18, 2015, 09:08:37 PM »
the income and the expense flow out separately.
the income comes out as "other portfolio income" and the expenses as "other portfolio expenses".
in this way the accountants sign off on the return and you have the headache of deciding how to pick it up.