Author Topic: Can someone offer some Investor 101 for a newbie?  (Read 7049 times)

fliphusker

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can someone offer some Investor 101 for a newbie?
« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2016, 09:16:38 PM »
Another newbie here. New to LC, but not new to investing. No debt either. Starting with 5K invested in LC, then will see how it goes and probably invest a lot more.

I'm trying to choose between setting a filter and using it to invest automatically and using the same filter to pick $25 notes manually. My understanding is that for manual investments, I have to log on when new loans are posted and try to pick the good ones before other people do. The alternative is to set the same filter and let LC pick them automatically. Is the automatic option better in terms of timing to get the best notes? With automatic investment, will LC pick the notes right after release and before the manual investors can pick them? How does the platform decide which investors pick the automatic loans first? For example, if there is a 2.5K loan and it meets the criteria of 1000 automatic investors' filters, how does LC pick the ones who will invest in this loan?
All good questions to which I have no answers.  I can give you my experience starting from the same position as you.

I started 2 years ago with a few k in a LC account.  It wasn't worth a lot of my time to optimize the crap out of it.  So I went with Automated Investing with LC, a simple filter, and a conservative investment mix.  Sometimes I would have $$$ sitting idle in the account and LC would not have bought a note for me for a few days.  I would log in and manually pick up notes that fit my criteria.  That was maybe 2x a month.

The allocation was about 85-90% A/B/C, skewed B/C, with the rest sprinkled in D/E. 

The filters were as simple as FICO>=705, Status=Approved, Deliquencies = 0, Term=36 Months.