Author Topic: Borrower Fraud  (Read 2981 times)

Skeptical

• View Profile
    • Email
Borrower Fraud
« on: August 19, 2017, 10:08:26 AM »
I am new to P2P lending and I am cautiously putting my toe in the water. I invested in a loan that had a FICO score around 740 and this person supposedly made a six-figure salary. This borrower did not even attempt to make the first payment. There appeared to be no good faith on his part. The only thing that makes sense to me is that this borrower NEVER intended to make a payment. If someone goes belly-up in a year or two, that makes sense to me. But never paying your first month! So far all of my other notes have paid. I know you will have defaults but this smacks of willful borrower fraud to me.

Michael

SeanMCA

• View Profile
    • deBanked
    • Email
Re: Borrower Fraud
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2017, 12:32:39 PM »
It probably is. Lending Club calls borrowers who do this "straight rollers"

It's annoying but unfortunately it's part of the game. Hopefully it only happens to very very few of your notes.
I'm a merchant cash advance veteran exploring the p2p lending waters.

AnilG

• View Profile
    • PeerCube
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2017, 12:46:20 PM »
If no payment was made on the loan, you may want to reach out to LC customer support and claim loan was fraudulent. LC might decide to investigate further and potentially refund lenders.
---
Anil Gupta
PeerCube Thoughts blog https://www.peercube.com/blog
PeerCube https://www.peercube.com

EmilyFoxSeaton

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2017, 01:45:41 PM »
If no payment was made on the loan, you may want to reach out to LC customer support and claim loan was fraudulent. LC might decide to investigate further and potentially refund lenders.